Wednesday, July 28, 2010

I've been bad....

Ive been bad… I havnt been writing. But its only because I got discouraged! Like that’s a good excuse.

We came here knowing and being told we were going to have to work hard. No problem. But I think what’s harder is being told that and then completing all your work and not really knowing if doing other personal work is… okay too. This is the conundrum I have been in for the past few days. I know that I need to photograph whatever is not on the website, but how do I do that when I don’t know what industrial equipment is called…let alone in Dutch what its proper name is! AHHH! So I have been spending some time in the upstairs apartment doing this and that, which includes, channel surfing, surfing the internet for jobs, dutch language study and searching for things on the local “Craigslist.” So last night, after going a bit stir crazy and Bryan talking about getting a job, and his excitement I had a mini break down.

Don’t get me wrong I’m SOOOOOO happy for him that in one day he found a tempory job to get us by until he finds a more steady on that can go on my residence application. Im super stoked for him. However, after a day of worrying if I was doing enough or just appeared to be a lump on a pickle…I couldn’t handle it. I broke down. Funny thing is….I havnt been doing anything wrong. Bryan mentioned my worries to Arie and within minutes he eased my fears. He told me he knows I work hard and isn’t worried about me taking initiative. I know that about myself, but Im such a nervous ninny I let it get to me. SO! Im going to beat that stir crazyness with my running shoes and start running again tomorrow. Ill post photos.

But….since I have been so bad and havnt written, and need to go to bed soon, Ill give you the 5 min run down.
Saturday before last we went to Hannekes and spent the weekend with her. We enjoyed going to a bar called the swinging pianos where her boyfriends brother played. I also enjoyed eating giant foods like ice creams and patat.
37902_10150233038135195_531495194_14044643_4267706_n
35196_521865277028_138701380_30764117_8131595_n
Trip to the store with b and arno. -The store with Bryan and Arno...

I also enjoyed spending time with the old dog we call Lotje. The ugliest dog she is kinda sorta cute. And… she smiles too.
Lotje
Last week Bryan got his citizenship after a nightmarish person called him an illegal, we came to find out she was still learning and he is the first American to be born into Dutch citizenship the way he was (under the specific law) in this gemeente (City Hall Jurisdiction).

Because of this person and some other errands we needed to run we ended up riding our bikes 110 km or 65 miles. We saw horses, sheep, baby ponies, and cows.Bryan and his fiets 37697_10150233036650195_531495194_14044591_7909087_nSheeps
Horses pano

Sunday, Arie arrived home from Brazil and brought me a pair of earrings and a t-shirt. He also brought home a red and white striped dress for lora and matching shoes, earrings and a tshirt too.
Arie and lora

Today, our boxes arrived. Bryan and I had a fight, finished and got over the fight and decided it wasn’t about the boxes and fixed it all up. Then Bryan had a final interview with the uitzendbureu. I got to ask some questions and then Bryan indulged me in my need for Equestrian (rijbroek) pants and drove the scooter….oh I didn’t mention he got a scooter to ride to work, and we took it on a test drive today. But we went to Tiel for my pants and he bought me a treat at a Bakery, where they had GlutenVrij treats! I had a hazelnut meringue tart. We also shared a patat met. Finally I tried on some pants and…the 38 were tight. Lol. Probably the patat.38072_10150237747110195_531495194_14196770_1038548_n And I leave you with a photo of Bryan and his father after work at a Potato Factory yesterday.

Sleep time now. I promise I will be better!

Trip to the ind Den Bos After seeing the lady at the IND.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

25 kilometer and no phone

I started the day by rolling over at 5:15 to no Bryan beside me. This was strange to me only because a half an hour previous he had been asking me if I was alright as I was tossing and turning. I was also confused because he came to bed after I did and complained about getting up at 5 the previous night.

I walked out to find him eating cereal. HE was up at 5! (Im watching a British T.V. show, so I'm going to say...) THATS RUBBISH! But I was happy to see him up and running, even if he was watching TV. Lora was up by about 6 and told me she spoke with Arie the night previous, and had asked if Bryan had weeded yet. He hadn't, but would. After having some breakfast, we got dressed and started on the weeds together. It wasn't my job, but I like to be outside and with Bryan, so I went to help. The funny thing was, I was afraid Lora was going to tell me I shouldn't be doing the mens work and, thats exactly what happened. She laughed as she told me "Poor Katie, Thats Bryan's job, you don't need to be out there pulling weeds!" I thought it was funny. I do kind of want to show that I'm strong and am willing to get my hands dirty though. I've never been one to not want to prove myself.

Im really worried however because when I left, Alex had been out talking with Bryan, and B asked him for some pruning shears for the trees. Bryan finished weeding, and then came up because we needed to go to Culemborg for phones, a router, stroopwafels (for Chellea) and salad fixings.We came back with the router, passport photos, stroopwafels, salad stuff, and no phones!
When we rode up I noticed Alex doing some weeding, cleaning up the opposite side we were working on and asked Bryan about it. He said he didnt know why Alex was doing it. This evening I noticed the trees were all trimmed as well. I know we had things to do, but I'm really worried Bryan is going to get into trouble because he didnt do it.

Later we found out we may be able to get the phones in Utrecht though, so when we got back from Culemborg, I prepared some stuff for dinner and we got ready to ride our bikes back to Culemborg and the train to Utrecht.

Finally in Utrecht, they told us we still couldnt have phones because Bryan doesnt have a card for his Bank Account yet. They couldnt have told us this over the phone? I made sure to make a fuss over that!

We did however get a power cord for my Mac and priced out tubs for under the bed. Not bad, but still not what we expected, therefore not worth the saddle sore butts we have now. We rode 25 Km today, just under 15 miles. Im tired...

I am sitting with the oldest cat, sharky, now half on my lap (head on my thigh and paw across my belly) and half in between Bryans legs (he gets the butt and tail, lol), but he doesnt care, because hij slaapt. Eh....Sharky slaapt ook.

The Ugly Face of Beauty is capturing my attention and I want some rice pudding. But I dont want to wake my new friend.


Writing while waiting for planes. (back tracking a bit)

7-7-2010, 11:30 PST

We have made it to SFO. After a long day of packing, visiting, lunching, saying goodbyes, repacking at the check-in gate (baggage over 50 lbs is $75 more than the normal $20.) Luckily they were having a promotion going on right now, check one bag for $20 and get the second for $1. So in total we paid $42.00 instead of $100.

Packing today was a nightmare. Everywhere I looked there was more stuff to go through, pack, organize or put into storage. Not to mention my poor dog moped around all day. The fat head (pit bull) didn’t understand though, so she ran around happy as a clam.

It was heart breaking at the gate, but nice at the same time. Kelly, Adriana and Edward came to see us off with Mom, Steve, Daryn, Honey-buns and Mustang. I’m going to miss all of them so much! (I love you guys!!)

There was a lot of drama last night, but that is all over with and not worth talking about.

My dad came by the house to say farewell and be safe. I wish we hadn’t fought so much the past few days, but all of that was done and over with today and we had a nice talk. All I have to say is that he better care for Poopa (aka Fat Head) or I’ll hurt him! I love you Dad, please take care of yourself.

It is 11:18 and the plane we are taking to Milwaukee will be leaving in half an hour. They are currently pre-boarding as I type.

Night for now. Xoxoxxox

7-8-2010, 4:27 PST, 6:27 MST

We have landed in Milwaukee, which Bryan and I, to tell the truth, forgot which state that was in. I thought Minnesota upon landing, which Bryan informed me was not a state, (I immediately proved that one wrong. But he probably wont admit that defeat ::smile:: ) But alas I was wrong, because Milwaukee is in Wisconsin (which I continue to pronounce WissCAAANSin).

I admit, it was hard watching San Francisco disappear behind me. I cried for the first 15 minutes we were in the Air. I think it was when Bryan said we were over Stockton that I decided my nose was running so much that I needed tissues and insisted I go to the bathroom. I kept getting pangs of goodbye and already missing my home, the only one I have known for 24 years, and couldn’t hold back the tears. I got to the bathroom and cleaned up, stuffing extra tissues into my pocket.

I slept most of the flight. Well, with the exception of the times I woke up from my leg being so asleep that I could no longer feel it and when my head was hunched forward so much that my neck was hurting from the strain. Yawning now, I’m thinking about going and taking a photo to represent this portion of the blog.

Xoxoxxoxoxoxox

7-8-10 15:48 PST, 18:47 EST

“We’re getting on the plane…. We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane…” – The mantra that has been plaguing my head for the past 3 hours.

We arrived at La Guardia in New York, right on time. Upon retrieving our bags from baggage claim, I took one look at them and decided it would be FAR too difficult to try to use the city bus system, and Bryan, already saying we were crazy for having 280 combined pounds of luggage agreed. And so we began our search for a ride to Toms River. After a few calls and not really getting anywhere for anything reasonable, we ended up at John F. Kennedy Airport to hopefully get our ticket pushed up.

After 3 hours of sitting with the ticket agent at JFK international and speaking with Orbitz, who hung up on us after holding for 45 minutes, we got on the wait list for the plane leaving for Amsterdam, tonight. In the case we do not make the plane tonight, we will be on the list for the plane tomorrow afternoon and evening. “We’re getting on the plane tonight….Tonight….TONIGHT….!”

Finally at 3 pm we were able to get some food. I had to put my allergy aside and bite my tongue as the lady at subway threw together my salad without changing her gluten filled gloves.

While eating we met a very nice couple who are also going to Iceland, but will be heading to London after. We talked while waiting for the boarding to open and had a great time.

My phone is almost dead though and the only reason I’m typing is to charge it, because honestly I’m falling asleep.

In other news….Bryan and I think Hanneke is on to us. Sending us a message “why all the parties and drama when you are only coming here for a month?” Oh well, if that doesn’t surprise her, us arriving a week early will.

Closing my eyes now….We have half an hour until we find out. We will be on that plane! We will.

Sunday, July 11, 2010

Thunderstorms and Rummelmarts

Well we have made it.

Unfortunately, my 3 journal entrys from the trip here are stuck on my lap top. We dont have WIFi yet so, I have to wait to get those up here. But I will say we had a hell of a time getting here and it was nerve wracking as all hell.

But we made it, safe and sound.

Yesterday I got up at 5 am, my plan worked perfectly...except for falling asleep last night at 20:00. But Bryan and I woke up and I studied my Dutch while he played Sodoku. Then Lora and Arie were up at about 6:15 and we all had breakfast. Saturdays are usually cleaning days, so while I ate (because I ate a bit later than everyone else) Lora went to cleaning her room. I got up and started putting dishes away and trying to do my best to begin cleaning. I vaccuumed and mopped upstairs, while Lora cleaned up the front of the house. Then we took the dogs for a walk with Marijka. When we got back we cleaned up the office, bathrooms and countertops for me, while Lora got the computer area. It was hard work and it has been the hottest it has been here in years, this summer. So needless to say, I was really sweaty when I got done.

When I finished, I watched Arie and B work on one of the trucks and then decided to shower. I got in the elevator (Yeah...we have an elevator at home =) and as I was about to hit the button for the office, I started to go down. B was about to come get me, and I was already there. We went to get lunch, fish and fruit and pickels and patat met! GOOD NEWS...I can eat the Patat met!! Though the guy at the shop told me I shouldnt be so afraid to ask questions. =) So, I'm not going to be anymore.

Last night there were massive thunder and lightening storms. It was awesome, and I will ad a video soon. =)

We are on our way to the Rummelmart now and Im going to get a bread machine so I can make my own GF bread.

I cant wait to have a sandwich!

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

OMG!

Im getting very nervous and my mind races whenever I think about what needs to happen.

I need to get my palet out like ASAP! Not yesterday, now....the boxes still arent completely packed!

The Garage needs to have a MASSIVE SALE...What day? I have not the slightest idea!

Dates and to do for those dates...
June 3rd
  1. My last day of work
  2. Moms Batchelorette party
  • Where are we going? The stripper is out because my aunt decided we can not have it at her house
  • AsiaSF - Gender Benders and dinner?
  • Cooking school hosted by my sisters friends mother? (So much for a naughty night on the town...)
June 4th
  1. Wedding prep... Nails and Threading...etc.
June 5th
  1. Wedding....Lets hope there is no rain....
June 6th
  1. What? Nothing.... Prep for the move....
June 7th
  1. Drive to Sac Town to get my non- marriage cert.
  2. Pack for LA?
  3. Finish putting stuff together for Storage
June 8th
  1. Continue putting stuff away for storage.
June 9th
  1. Well, I expected to be leaving, but it looks like we will be leaving the 10th or 11th instead so...I will continue working on the house to prep it for mom....BAH!
June 10th
  1. Finalize LA packing
  2. Sleeping bags? Where are we camping? Staying?
  3. Continue putting things away for storage ( I have A LOT OF CRAP!)
June 11th
  1. LEAVE FOR LA!! YAY VACATION!!
June 12 - 19th
  1. Disneyland (Sucking me dry for money...)
  2. Seeing Aunt Carrie and Rudy Pop Pop and Grandma Barbara
  3. Hang out with Case and Phil (Get some family info on B)
June 19th
  1. Drive Home
June 20th -25th
  1. Work with my grandparents to prepare for the 26th.
June 26th
  1. Going away party
  2. Gallery Show
  3. Auction (I have to get all of this stuff ready too.... AHHHHH)
  4. Plan wine tasting
  5. Plan food
  6. PLEASE LORD AND LADY, HELP ME....
June 27th - July 2
  1. Relax? Whats that?
  2. Get final stuff packed.
  3. Hope Pallet has arrived at IS.
July 3rd
  1. NAPA WINE TRAIN!! YAY!!!
July 4th
  1. Family get together (Hopefully...I really want to see them all for one last holiday.)
July 5th
  1. Final prep work, hopefully I have secured a car by now?
July 6th
  1. Really final packing and hanging out with friends for the last day.
July 7th
  1. Say "Ill see you soon" and board our plane for New York at 11:45 pm.
July 8th
  1. Arrive in New York, LGA and get rental car
  2. (Hopefully we have figured out a place to stay???)
July 9th & 10th
  1. Visit with Aunt Joan, Uncle Allen and GG in Toms River
July 11th & 12th
  1. Depart from Toms River for the Shore to see Dorthy and AWESOME art. =)
July 13th
  1. Depart from the shore and make our trek to the airport (JFK this time)
  2. Drop car off.
  3. Take public transit to AirPort...
  4. Take off at 8:45 for Iceland
July 14th
  1. Land in Iceland at 6am
  2. Take off for Schipol at 10 am
  3. Land at Schipol at 12:55
  4. Take train from AMS to Culomburg
  5. Hanneke may just pick us up from AMS (Happiness!!)
OMG! Im going crazy. Time for some food for today.... This weekend is crazy too because I have to go to Chico to get my hair done for the wedding, but there is a court date also, and its memorial day. My sister isnt coming home til Tuesday morning. Do I stay the weekend or do I go home with my grandparents? Im thinking stay with Daryn, I need to have more moments with her. I miss her already.

Its so close...

Side note; I will be beginning a GF Blog for Holland because there arent really any Out of the US blogs for GF. =)

Monday, May 10, 2010

June 3rd. My Last Day

I have given my last day at work today. June 3rd.

June 5th my mom will be married.

June 9th We leave for LA with a pit stop in Santa Barbara

June 13th We head to Anaheim for Disneyland

June 26th We have our farewell party and I sell photos. =)

July 7th We take off at 11:45pm for New York

July 13th We take off for Amsterdam.

July 14th Bryans mop and go service opens for business. ;-)