Monday, August 2, 2010
Cyclists beware...
2 Large Yoghurt cups (for Bryan)
A Carton of Yoghurt 0% Vet (for me)
A Carton of milk
2 Iced tea Boxes
3 bottles of Sisi
A carton of Pomegranate Juice
Grapes, a cucumber, tomatoes, lettuce, Carrots (tops still attached), lemons, and beets.
But it doesn't end there.
Strawberry popsicles'
Chicken for dinner
Mini Red potatoes
Roast Steaks
Nuts
Variety of Cheese
Variety of Meat (mostly if not all salami oh there was one chicken)
A box of panty liners (because I previously bought mini - incontinence pads...which I do not need.)
€50.57
I put the Sisi bottles on the back of the bike. Loaded the Chrome bag with the boxes and carrots (tops sticking out of the side)
and ran back in to get a box because the fruit, vegies and yoghurt cups werent going to fit.
I had an encounter with a dutch couple who didnt speak any english but was trying to get directions from me as to how to get back to Culemborg...which I wish I could have told them because I have a short cut! But the man left in frustration, and his wife followed shortly.
I finally got my bike unlocked. Some how got the chrome bag on my back, picked the box up and moved the bike to the street. I carefully put the box on the handlebars and mounted the bike, with feet still firmly on the ground. I moved the box to my hip as I had previously seen Bryan do and pushed the left pedal. I was moving, but slowly. I quickly lifted my right leg hoping I wouldnt loose balance and pushed the peddle. A little wobbly and moving towards cars I corrected myself and was off! YES! Success!
I made it into the garage when one of the gentleman here asked "willt jij help?" I exclaimed "YES!" and continued to thank him while putting the bike away.
Unfortunately, there is no photo of this event...one because Bryan wasnt there and two, if he was do you think this would have happened?
Sunday, August 1, 2010
The News....
As for today. We went to the Rommel Mart, the usual sunday adventure. Bryan was looking for sunglasses so he can stop wearing my (laurel proclaimed) "eurotrash" Ralph Lauren ones. I was looking for Riding Boot and Arie was looking for a soft bag he could take to Finland with him. All but one of us left with what we wanted. And found some other stuff along the way. OH and Bryan and I were looking for new pillows....Because the ones we have....lets just say...Have almost given me a concussion in pillow battle.
The Rommel Mart.
We came home with yummy schwarma and had a lazy day watching movies. I swear I could get fat off of Schwarma and Patat met.
I have also developed my own cream puff, since Bryan and Arie like to buy the "No no katie pastries." They found me a gluten free pound cake at a store when sent to buy tasty pastries and find me something I could eat. After having two of them I decided I should be able to have a cream puff too. I sliced my mini-pound cake into slivers and stole the whipped cream Lora keeps for the cats. Gluten Free Katie Cream Puffs. Though, the cream doesnt squish out like it does with a real cream puff.
Sharky, Bryan and I after our nap yesterday (Bryan didnt partake in the nap, just the photo.)
Saturday, July 31, 2010
Berries and Cats
This is what fruit is suppose to look like.
Raspberries/Frambozen
Blackberries/Bramen
Red Currents/Rode Stroom
And Gooseberries/ Kruisbessen (I had never had these before and I’m like a kid with these, where I eat so many I get sick).
I had a salmon salad for lunch (sorta like a tuna salad….) and a herring with onions. I still need a photo of me eating a herring in the traditional Dutch way. Maybe next Saturday.
I have been taking photos with all the animals around here recently and this afternoon when I came upstairs, Sharky was sleeping on our bed. He is the eldest cat and pretty much sleeps all day. But he is also a legend. He has lived on mostly mice and rats and birds his whole life (catching them himself) has brought home countless weasels, mice and rats for Lora and Dutch and has survived being poisoned. He deserves to take some time for himself in his old age.
Then there is Zus. She is a lover cat and the most well behaved baby ever. She had a tick on her neck a few weeks ago and I had to hold her down to get it. Not one squirm. She sat VERY still. Then another tick a few days later, which I accidentally pulled the butt off of and had to use tweezers to get the rest of it out. She just lay there patiently. She is so awesome!
And there is Prutzer (I probably spelled his name wrong). He is Hanneke's cat and a lover as well. He always comes in and meows at us if he is wet or hungry.
This is not nearly all the animals we have though. I havnt shown Toby, Flecky, the turtles, fish, Geese, Chickens or.... Big Red...The other orange cat (My name for him is Romeo.) He is Zus's brother and just as sweet, only a bit more feisty when it comes to holding him.
OH....
Another cool event that happened. Last night after dinner, I was in the kitchen and Dutch yelled for me to come to look out the window. There was this....
SO FREAKING CLOSE. Dutch told me that I needed to watch out for them when I was up on the roof naked. lol.
I havn't gone up to the hot tub yet...but its good advice.
Wednesday, July 28, 2010
I've been bad....
We came here knowing and being told we were going to have to work hard. No problem. But I think what’s harder is being told that and then completing all your work and not really knowing if doing other personal work is… okay too. This is the conundrum I have been in for the past few days. I know that I need to photograph whatever is not on the website, but how do I do that when I don’t know what industrial equipment is called…let alone in Dutch what its proper name is! AHHH! So I have been spending some time in the upstairs apartment doing this and that, which includes, channel surfing, surfing the internet for jobs, dutch language study and searching for things on the local “Craigslist.” So last night, after going a bit stir crazy and Bryan talking about getting a job, and his excitement I had a mini break down.
Don’t get me wrong I’m SOOOOOO happy for him that in one day he found a tempory job to get us by until he finds a more steady on that can go on my residence application. Im super stoked for him. However, after a day of worrying if I was doing enough or just appeared to be a lump on a pickle…I couldn’t handle it. I broke down. Funny thing is….I havnt been doing anything wrong. Bryan mentioned my worries to Arie and within minutes he eased my fears. He told me he knows I work hard and isn’t worried about me taking initiative. I know that about myself, but Im such a nervous ninny I let it get to me. SO! Im going to beat that stir crazyness with my running shoes and start running again tomorrow. Ill post photos.
But….since I have been so bad and havnt written, and need to go to bed soon, Ill give you the 5 min run down.
Saturday before last we went to Hannekes and spent the weekend with her. We enjoyed going to a bar called the swinging pianos where her boyfriends brother played. I also enjoyed eating giant foods like ice creams and patat.
I also enjoyed spending time with the old dog we call Lotje. The ugliest dog she is kinda sorta cute. And… she smiles too.
Last week Bryan got his citizenship after a nightmarish person called him an illegal, we came to find out she was still learning and he is the first American to be born into Dutch citizenship the way he was (under the specific law) in this gemeente (City Hall Jurisdiction).
Because of this person and some other errands we needed to run we ended up riding our bikes 110 km or 65 miles. We saw horses, sheep, baby ponies, and cows.
Sunday, Arie arrived home from Brazil and brought me a pair of earrings and a t-shirt. He also brought home a red and white striped dress for lora and matching shoes, earrings and a tshirt too.
Today, our boxes arrived. Bryan and I had a fight, finished and got over the fight and decided it wasn’t about the boxes and fixed it all up. Then Bryan had a final interview with the uitzendbureu. I got to ask some questions and then Bryan indulged me in my need for Equestrian (rijbroek) pants and drove the scooter….oh I didn’t mention he got a scooter to ride to work, and we took it on a test drive today. But we went to Tiel for my pants and he bought me a treat at a Bakery, where they had GlutenVrij treats! I had a hazelnut meringue tart. We also shared a patat met. Finally I tried on some pants and…the 38 were tight. Lol. Probably the patat.
Sleep time now. I promise I will be better!
Tuesday, July 13, 2010
25 kilometer and no phone
Writing while waiting for planes. (back tracking a bit)
7-7-2010, 11:30 PST
We have made it to SFO. After a long day of packing, visiting, lunching, saying goodbyes, repacking at the check-in gate (baggage over 50 lbs is $75 more than the normal $20.) Luckily they were having a promotion going on right now, check one bag for $20 and get the second for $1. So in total we paid $42.00 instead of $100.
Packing today was a nightmare. Everywhere I looked there was more stuff to go through, pack, organize or put into storage. Not to mention my poor dog moped around all day. The fat head (pit bull) didn’t understand though, so she ran around happy as a clam.
It was heart breaking at the gate, but nice at the same time. Kelly, Adriana and Edward came to see us off with Mom, Steve, Daryn, Honey-buns and Mustang. I’m going to miss all of them so much! (I love you guys!!)
There was a lot of drama last night, but that is all over with and not worth talking about.
My dad came by the house to say farewell and be safe. I wish we hadn’t fought so much the past few days, but all of that was done and over with today and we had a nice talk. All I have to say is that he better care for Poopa (aka Fat Head) or I’ll hurt him! I love you Dad, please take care of yourself.
It is 11:18 and the plane we are taking to Milwaukee will be leaving in half an hour. They are currently pre-boarding as I type.
Night for now. Xoxoxxox
7-8-2010, 4:27 PST, 6:27 MST
We have landed in Milwaukee, which Bryan and I, to tell the truth, forgot which state that was in. I thought Minnesota upon landing, which Bryan informed me was not a state, (I immediately proved that one wrong. But he probably wont admit that defeat ::smile:: ) But alas I was wrong, because Milwaukee is in Wisconsin (which I continue to pronounce WissCAAANSin).
I admit, it was hard watching San Francisco disappear behind me. I cried for the first 15 minutes we were in the Air. I think it was when Bryan said we were over Stockton that I decided my nose was running so much that I needed tissues and insisted I go to the bathroom. I kept getting pangs of goodbye and already missing my home, the only one I have known for 24 years, and couldn’t hold back the tears. I got to the bathroom and cleaned up, stuffing extra tissues into my pocket.
I slept most of the flight. Well, with the exception of the times I woke up from my leg being so asleep that I could no longer feel it and when my head was hunched forward so much that my neck was hurting from the strain. Yawning now, I’m thinking about going and taking a photo to represent this portion of the blog.
Xoxoxxoxoxoxox
7-8-10 15:48 PST, 18:47 EST
“We’re getting on the plane…. We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane… We’re getting on the plane…” – The mantra that has been plaguing my head for the past 3 hours.
We arrived at La Guardia in New York, right on time. Upon retrieving our bags from baggage claim, I took one look at them and decided it would be FAR too difficult to try to use the city bus system, and Bryan, already saying we were crazy for having 280 combined pounds of luggage agreed. And so we began our search for a ride to Toms River. After a few calls and not really getting anywhere for anything reasonable, we ended up at John F. Kennedy Airport to hopefully get our ticket pushed up.
After 3 hours of sitting with the ticket agent at JFK international and speaking with Orbitz, who hung up on us after holding for 45 minutes, we got on the wait list for the plane leaving for Amsterdam, tonight. In the case we do not make the plane tonight, we will be on the list for the plane tomorrow afternoon and evening. “We’re getting on the plane tonight….Tonight….TONIGHT….!”
Finally at 3 pm we were able to get some food. I had to put my allergy aside and bite my tongue as the lady at subway threw together my salad without changing her gluten filled gloves.
While eating we met a very nice couple who are also going to Iceland, but will be heading to London after. We talked while waiting for the boarding to open and had a great time.
My phone is almost dead though and the only reason I’m typing is to charge it, because honestly I’m falling asleep.
In other news….Bryan and I think Hanneke is on to us. Sending us a message “why all the parties and drama when you are only coming here for a month?” Oh well, if that doesn’t surprise her, us arriving a week early will.
Closing my eyes now….We have half an hour until we find out. We will be on that plane! We will.
Sunday, July 11, 2010
Thunderstorms and Rummelmarts
Unfortunately, my 3 journal entrys from the trip here are stuck on my lap top. We dont have WIFi yet so, I have to wait to get those up here. But I will say we had a hell of a time getting here and it was nerve wracking as all hell.
But we made it, safe and sound.
Yesterday I got up at 5 am, my plan worked perfectly...except for falling asleep last night at 20:00. But Bryan and I woke up and I studied my Dutch while he played Sodoku. Then Lora and Arie were up at about 6:15 and we all had breakfast. Saturdays are usually cleaning days, so while I ate (because I ate a bit later than everyone else) Lora went to cleaning her room. I got up and started putting dishes away and trying to do my best to begin cleaning. I vaccuumed and mopped upstairs, while Lora cleaned up the front of the house. Then we took the dogs for a walk with Marijka. When we got back we cleaned up the office, bathrooms and countertops for me, while Lora got the computer area. It was hard work and it has been the hottest it has been here in years, this summer. So needless to say, I was really sweaty when I got done.
When I finished, I watched Arie and B work on one of the trucks and then decided to shower. I got in the elevator (Yeah...we have an elevator at home =) and as I was about to hit the button for the office, I started to go down. B was about to come get me, and I was already there. We went to get lunch, fish and fruit and pickels and patat met! GOOD NEWS...I can eat the Patat met!! Though the guy at the shop told me I shouldnt be so afraid to ask questions. =) So, I'm not going to be anymore.
Last night there were massive thunder and lightening storms. It was awesome, and I will ad a video soon. =)
We are on our way to the Rummelmart now and Im going to get a bread machine so I can make my own GF bread.
I cant wait to have a sandwich!
